Moving from Connecticut to Florida was a tough decision to make. Leaving family, friends, and everything I had ever known for my 18 years of life is not something for the faint of heart. It requires flexibility and responsibility, as well as the ability to provide for oneself. The reality is that this situation came about with little thought. I knew that I did not want to stay in Connecticut for my college experience, yet I knew that I would be unable to afford living by myself. The perfect opportunity presented itself when my aunt opened her doors to me down here in Florida. She also highly recommended the universities in her vicinity, which happened to include University of Florida and Santa Fe College. It was the perfect option which suited both my needs as an incoming student.

Living in this college town called Gainesville, my lifestyle has been significantly different than what I am used to. I grew up in a small town called Berlin, which had a small population. The roads were less crowded up in Connecticut. But there are significantly more palm trees here, so it is really just a trade off.

 

 

In order to have transportation down here in Florida, my only option was to drive my car down. The drive from Connecticut to Florida is no joke, as it consists of 13 hours of straight driving. Lucky for me, my father lives in Maryland, so it split the trip in half. I spent a few days at his house before making the 7 hour drive to Maryland. Only once was I caught going 88 in a 70! Beside the occasional speeding ticket, my trip down to Florida was uneventful and rather boring. Perhaps I can now consider myself a better driver? 13 hours of driving will definitely teach any rookie the rules of the road!

Word count:  307 words

4 thoughts on “My Move to Florida

  1. I guess it would teach a rookie haha. Interesting story, I had a similar move from Nashville only I had lived in Florida and been to Gainesville before. Good post though, had no idea you came from Connecticut major respect points for that!

    Like

  2. I feel you! I moved in from Venezuela to USA. It’s been hard. I had to learn a new lenguage, and I am still speaking funny. I have a lot more to learn, but at the end it will be worth it. one more thing I agree with you that your college experience cannot be in your home town.

    Like

  3. Your blog was very well written! I bet it is a very difficult change to move from Connecticut to Florida. It’s really awesome that you have an aunt who is willing to help you out down here! I feel like that will hopefully make your adjustment to Florida a little easier. Florida is kind of crazy but once you fully adjust you will come to love it, unless you actually enjoyed real seasons, then I have no idea what to tell you. LOL!

    Like

Leave a Reply

